Learning Chinese Dialects

Topics related to learning Hakka Chinese.
Yuyan Xuejia

Learning Chinese Dialects

Post by Yuyan Xuejia »

I would like to find a person who can help/teach me to speak a Chinese dialect. I am particularly interested in learning dialects which have a wide number of speakers, such as Hakka, Minnan, Shanghai, Chaozhou etc. (I can speak fluent Cantonese and Mandarin already) It would be best if you use the standard form of the dialect (or a recognised form).

If you can help me, please send me an email.

I would be happy to help with your English(I am a fluent speaker), Cantonese or Mandarin in return for your favor.
pat

Re: Learning Chinese Dialects

Post by pat »

Hello,

Is the Hakka dialect so different from Cantonese's and even more from Mandarin's ?
I am just a beginner learner of Mandarin for 2 weeks.
My parents seems to speak Hakka and I want to be sure of that.
They were born in Vietnam and my grand fathers were from the South of China but I don't know exactly from what area because unfortunately I did not know them. As I grow up in France I have to learn now the languages of my ancesters (Vietnamese and Chinese as well).

Sorry for my not perfect English !
And thanks you very much for your advices.

A-Sam
Dylan Sung

Post by Dylan Sung »

To A-Sam,

In Hakka the most significant vocabulary distinguishing Hakka from neighbouring dialects is the pronouns

I = ngai /Nai11/
you = ngi /Ni11/
he/she/it = gi /ki11/

These should be in the same tone, though in my dialect, it is a low level tone signified by beginning and end points /11/.

In my dialect, possessive pronouns are in a slightly different tone, a mid level tone /33/

my = nga /Na33/
your = ngia /Nia33/
their = gia /kia33/

Other indicators of a Hakka dialect include the way you say "what"

what = mak gai /mak3 kai53/

/mak3/ is a mid level pitch in my dialect. In others, it is a low pitch /1/ or possibly /2/